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What is ROAS and How to Maximise Your Facebook Return on Ad Spend

Making sure you’re measuring and analysing the correct data is vital to success when it comes to the effectiveness of your Facebook advertising campaigns. The big one we marketers need to keep an eye on, is ROAS. Keep reading to learn what exactly ROAS is, why it’s important, how to calculate and how to improve it.

What is ROAS?

 When launching a new campaign, it’s important to keep track of certain key performance indicators (KPI’s), in order to assess the campaign’s effectiveness and make improvements where needed.

Most people like to monitor click-through rates (CTR), conversion rates, and cost per conversion and whilst these metrics are meaningful on their own, collectively they don’t give you an understanding of the overall success of your campaign.

ROAS does.

Return on ad spend (ROAS) Is the marketing metric that measures the revenue generated per pound (or dollar) spent in your campaign. Measuring this provides you with a complete understanding of whether or not a campaign is working effectively.

Your ROAS calculation is pretty straightforward. It is simply the cost of your campaign revenue divided by the cost of the campaign.

ROAS is more often than not expressed as a ratio. For example, if you generated £400 in revenue from your Facebook Ads campaign, and it cost you £100 to run, your ROAS would be 4:1, conveying £9 for every £1 spent. Are you keeping up?

Why does ROAS matter?

Tracking your campaign ROAS is one of the easiest things to do, but if you’re wondering why bother, let us explain.

Without tracking your ROAS, you might end up making decisions based on limited information. You should always treat revenue as the ideal outcome for all of your campaigns unless of course, you are focusing on raising brand awareness. Without correctly calculating and tracking your ROAS, you won’t be able to keep track of how much revenue each campaign is generating.

Tracking your ROAS also helps you analyse you’re the performance of your campaigns over time more effectively. You will be able to see if said campaign is performing effectively and whether you should renew the campaign or not.

Overall, ROAS helps you determine which campaigns are truly driving strong results and how you can improve upon your future campaigns.

4 ways to improve your ROAS

Optimising your ad spend is easier said than done and requires a lot of time and attention. However, there are a few things you can do to give yourself a head start when it comes to improving your ROAS.

  • Implement a marketing funnel

Marketing funnels are a great way to raise your ROAS. Remarketing efforts and creating lookalike audiences (to name a few) are great ways of implementing a funnel marketing system to your campaigns. Understanding where each ad set falls in the funnel and what each ad needs creatively to fit is sure to see an increase in your ROAS.

  • Run Dynamic Ads

Dynamic ads are a great way for potential customers to view unique ads based on their browsing activity on your site. It’s a much more personalised and targeted approach that We see dynamic ads bring in plenty of success for our clients and is definitely something we turn to when looking to raise ROAS.

  • Solve Problems

When it comes to your ad creatives, there are a few things you can tweak in your copy to raise your ROAS, one being solving your customers’ problems. In order to do this effectively, it’s important to understand your audience. This involves effective customer profiling and understanding their pain points so that you can target them in your ads.

  • Understand Ad Formats

One final thing that’s important to consider when attempting to raise your ROAS is your ad formats. Understanding which ad format best fits your content is crucial to converting. One way you can do this is to do your market research and lots of A/B testing!

Raise your ROAS with us

Feel like you need help raising your ROAS? Get in touch today and find out how our expert team can help grow your Facebook Ad Account.

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Facebook Stories 101

What are Facebook Stories and how can they elevate your marketing?

The advent of social media has completely changed the way businesses market themselves. While big brands command huge departments and mass resources to manage their campaigns, in the age of digital, a single piece of engaging content targeted at the right audience can be just as effective. The ever-evolving toolset offered to businesses by social media platforms means the methods of delivering messaging are more diverse than ever.

One such mechanism that has dominated as of late is the ‘story’, which has been implemented on Facebook, Instagram and more. In this blog, we’ll answer the burning question… ‘what are Facebook stories?’, whilst also giving you some specific tips on how to make the most of them in your social media marketing.

So, what are Facebook Stories?

Facebook stories are a special form of post that allows you to share pictures and videos with your followers, with the catch being you can only see them for 24 hours. After that, they’re gone!

So why is this disposable messaging such an important aspect of social media marketing then? To start, stories appear at the top of newsfeeds whether the individual is viewing on a desktop or a mobile device. This means that they’re immediately noticeable for potential customers; instead of scrolling through long-form posts that blend in with the rest, they’ll see your icon highlighted at the top.

With over 500 million people using Facebook stories a day, there is a huge audience to cater to. If you can manage to draw people in initially and they like the look and feel of the content you’re putting out, then this can prove to be an incredibly effective marketing tool.

How to post a story on a Facebook Business page?

Facebook stories can be created on either a desktop or a mobile device, unlike Instagram, which only allows you to make them on the mobile app. However, the Facebook app offers a more comprehensive set of tools and customisation than its desktop counterpart, so we would recommend using that when making a story.

If you’re managing multiple business pages on Facebook, you first need to pick the brand you’re creating the story for. Then simply head to the newsfeed and click on the ‘+’ sign that borders your profile picture in the upper right of the screen. This will bring up several options, but ‘create story’ is the one to choose for this purpose. Want’s that is done, you’ll be taken to the story creation menu.

The Tools

When you first look at the story creation menu, it can all be a bit overwhelming. There are several options to pick from and deciding which to use is paramount. The first you will see is the ‘gallery’ tab. Here, you can choose from all of the photos and videos that are already on your device.

On top of that, there is a variety of recording options to choose from. You can take new photos and videos, or even make a Boomerang, which takes a number of frames and converts them into a short, animated clip. Polls can be created too, which is a great way to interact with your audience and potentially garner customer feedback.

You can add custom text and edit the fonts and backgrounds, pick backing tracks from a wide selection of music too. Collages are another format to pick, with the ability to choose how many photos and how they are positioned. There is even the option to include your own custom buttons, directing viewers to specific landing pages. In short, there is a huge number of tools to utilise when creating a story.

How to use Facebook Stories for Businesses

Facebook can offer you all the tools in the world, but if you aren’t crafting engaging copy or content, then the stories are never going to produce results. One of the best things you can do is to utilise the unique parameters of the medium. Stories only last for 24 hours, so they are the prime place to push time-sensitive content, such as sales, where urgency is a key factor.

With the options on offer, stories can become a much more interactive type of content for you to test on your audience. Don’t neglect the custom buttons, poll options, and other tools at your disposal; by creating content your customers can actively engage with, the strength of your messaging is boosted and becomes far more effective as a result.

Let the experts help

Making a story sounds easy, but do you know how to craft an effective tone of voice, or edit a clip to make it really engaging? You have to remember that Facebook stories are just one element of social media marketing and, while they can be effective on their own, can’t match the reach of a carefully coordinated campaign. At social Nucleus, we can help with every aspect of your Facebook marketing.

We’ll help you determine which specific audiences to target, determining the best age ranges, genders, and locales for your brand. We’ll also work to create killer creatives, with our team of copywriters and graphic designers who can truly elevate your messaging. If you want to level up your digital advertising, get in touch and organise a consultation with one of our team.

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How To Advertise Effectively on Facebook with iOS14 Updates

What is iOS14 and how does this affect you?

In June 2020, Apple announced its fourteenth system update to the world at the company’s Worldwide Developers Conference. The update caused a lot of stir amongst the wider community. Why? Well, for one big reason.

App Tracking Transparency (ATT).

ATT, put simply, introduced a prompt to users requiring permission for apps to track their activities, such as website searches and the use of other apps. Most users before this update were likely unaware apps had the power to do this. It’s important to remember that Apple hasn’t blocked this feature completely. They’re simply asking your permission now.

Why is this happening?

Well, we don’t know for sure, but what we do know is that the answer is somewhere between Apple wanting to protect users’ privacy, and them wanting to capitalise on a new opportunity for profit.

Facebook has argued that they have their own data collection and that they still retain the dominate market position for advertising.

So, what’s the impact for Facebook advertisers?

You may have noticed that your iOS14 Facebook ads look a little different in recent months. This is because Facebook’s apps, including Instagram and Messenger, can no longer track users due to mass opt-outs. IDFA numbers, which are used to market to very detailed and specific audiences, are now going to be hidden if users decide to opt-out.

As a result of this, personalised ads and performance reports have become severely limited. Your advertising could be less effective, due to a loss of ad personalisation and small businesses are now finding it harder to reach their target audiences.

There could also be delays with reporting from Facebook, in relation to real-time data no longer being supported. It has been reported that it may now take up to 4 days before the report will populate. This includes data such as overall conversions.

This delay in reporting will often mean certain sections are off the mark and are not in line with the backend sales reports. Alongside this, important details and collective data such as age, gender, regions, and placements will no longer be available.

This means another key change is happening… retargeting efforts overall are going to be affected. Audience pools are going to be smaller and less refined, as the details are not going to be as accessible as before.

As a result of these changes, the Facebook pixel will also be affected by this update. Custom pixels will be limited to eight and the data it collects will be more generic.

Digital changes you can make

The good news is, there is a way around these changes. Some immediate actions you can take include

  1. Complete your domain verification

Whilst this is recommended anyway, Facebook recommends doing to keep your account and assets safe. This will give Facebook permissions to run through the website and check the its validity Doing this will promote the likelihood of an improved account, a smaller chance of a genuine website being pulled down, and smoother operations.

  1. Explore alternative routes for attribution

We recommend exploring alternative routes for attribution and tracking. There have been various ‘quick-fix’ hacks surfacing, but as a successful eCommerce business, you need to be looking at long-term solutions for attribution and tracking. This is the only way you will be able to achieve accuracy within your ads. So, make sure all accounts have UTM embedded within the ad level or manually input them onto each URL script ending.

  1. Prepare for no cookies

In light of the iOS14 release, the digital world is beginning to understand campaign performance based on modelling. If implemented correctly, it will encourage smarter decision-making.

  1. Platform Diversity

Connecting to your audience is still going to be possible, as that audience is still there. You just need to be able to reach them differently. We recommend a multi-channel strategy, ensuring you have multiple traffic sources alongside Facebook.

Creative changes you can make

Putting the digital aside, there are also some creative changes you can look at making going forward. These include:

  1. Make your content product-centric.

With a broader range of users seeing your ads, making your content hugely product-focused is going to be key to getting the right customers to convert. By making our product the star of our content from the first glance, whether this is a video or an image, our most relevant customers are likely to see this and know this ad is of interest to them.

  1. Use the target customer in your content (UGC)

We know user-generated content has always been hugely effective and it is going to be now more than ever. By using your target customers in your ad content, your audiences will find your content more relatable and are therefore will be more likely to engage.

  1. Copy should address the target customer directly

With us now having to speak to a broader variety of users with each ad than before, it is important that you now use your copy to speak directly to the people you actually want to convert. Treat your copy as a space to get across the key details of your product or service that the right customer will understand and care about.

How we can help

 The good news is, you’re not alone. Millions of advertisers across Facebook are also being affected in the same way.

If you’re still concerned about how these changes will impact your advertising efforts, why not get a helping hand on board?

Our in-house team of Facebook and paid media specialists, copywriters and graphic designers have worked tirelessly here to get ahead of these changes for our clients to minimise the impact on their results.

We’re already seeing these efforts pay off.

Book in a FREE 15-minute strategy call with one of our team and let’s talk about how we can help your business!

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Tone of Voice in Brand Communications: Why Is It So Important?

Tone of Voice in Brand Communications

When it comes to marketing communications, your brand’s tone of voice is one of the most important aspects to consider. It’s not just a tool used to appeal to potential customers. It’s an integral part of your business that conveys your values and makes your brand stand out to everyone from prospective partners to the rival brands you’re competing against.

In this blog, we’ll cover what a brand’s voice is and the reasons why establishing a strong one is so vital.

What is a Brand’s Tone of Voice?

Before we look at why this is such an important part of your marketing, let’s delve into what a tone of voice actually is. Put simply, your TOV is the way in which your brand conveys itself to the world, both written and spoken. It’s not necessarily about what you say, but more about how you say it and the impression this will have on your audience. To craft an effective, engaging tone of voice, you need to know who your audience is and what they want to see in a brand.

For example, a B2B brand operating in the engineering sector will target fellow professionals who know what they’re talking about. Colourful language, colloquialisms and other techniques you see in broader marketing won’t be applicable here. Instead, a mature, technical tone of voice is required, one that speaks the same language as those who are reading.

This encompasses everything you put out, both spoken, written and even visual content. Whether it’s Facebook ad copy or internal presentations, consistency is key. Your voice needs to be distinctive and present in order increase brand establishment. Trying to be as broad as possible and change the tone of your marketing for different audiences could be a hindrance and set your brand development back significantly.

Why is Brand Tone of Voice so Important?

Personification

Imagine for a moment that the audience isn’t reading your copy on a phone or laptop, but that they are instead listening to a person. If there is no recognisable personality or consistency to what they are saying, do you think your audience is likely to trust them or take on the message being conveyed? No.

When you have a strong, recognisable voice, your audience will build a character and view messaging as a conversation, rather than a piece of standard advertising.

In short, it makes your brand more personable. People don’t want to feel like they’re just getting information relayed to them or, on the other end of the spectrum, that they’re being fed lots of unnecessary filler. By creating a distinctive tone of voice, you’re making it easier for them to relate to your brand and ultimately see themselves become a part of it.

Reliability

We have already touched on the idea of consistency. When building a tone of voice, you have the chance to bring stability to your brand’s messaging. If your audience sees conflicting messaging, then they will view your brand as fractured and lacking any identity.

However, if consumers can see a clear ‘theme’ in your messaging, then this will reassure them that you know what you’re talking about. The importance of consistency in the type of content, ad copy and the way it is delivered cannot be overstated.

Authority

Tone of voice doesn’t just help to make you appear reliable in the eyes of potential customers, it can also make you seem more authoritative. However, this requires both personality and a deep knowledge of the subject or industry you’re working in.

When we talk about authority, this doesn’t necessarily mean bombarding your audience with a lot of jargon and technical talk. Instead, it’s about being confident in your messaging and having the intuition to know when and when not to use specific terminology.

Originality

This is quite basic, but it is still a hugely important part to consider. When you have a good tone of voice, it sets your brand apart from the rest. As we’ve already mentioned, it’s a great tool to help craft a unique identity, making both copy ad and content instantly recognisable as belonging to your brand.

This can be incredibly valuable, as once you have set a tone that connects with your consumer base, it means they’ll remember your brand. You won’t just be a random company in the field, instead, you’ll be a name they link to your industry. The important thing to remember is that, while you can of course take inspiration from competitors, you shouldn’t try to emulate them. You need to craft a truly unique voice that represents your brand.

Communication

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, tone of voice can massively improve your relationship with the audience and how you communicate to them. An effective tone of voice can cut through the endless sea of online content available, clearly conveying your message in a way other brands can’t.

It can also help focus your campaigns and marketing angles. Instead of coming up with loads of content and copy to test that might not produce results, you can follow a theme and slightly adjust what’s working. Don’t be afraid to turn away from the broad appeal, some of the most successful campaigns work because they operate in a niche.

Build a Better Voice with Social Nucleus

Knowing that tone of voice is important and being able to effectively craft one are two very different things. If you’re struggling to convey your brand in the best way through messaging, why not get help from the experts. At Social Nucleus, we work to establish a consistent tone of voice from the get-go that can be used in all aspects of your campaigns, from ad copy to email marketing and beyond. If you’d like to take your advertising to the next level, get in touch and start connecting with your audience now.